Believe, Grow, Achieve


The Early Years Foundation Stage 

The Early Years foundation Stage (EYFS) begins from birth, then in school from entry to nursery (when children are three or four years old) and finishes at the end of the Reception class (when all the children in the class will be five years old). Whilst your child is in the Early Years Foundation Stage, they will experience activities which will help them progress in their development and learning. The Development Matters and Early Learning Goals establish expectations for most children to reach by the end of the Reception year. These goals are organised into seven areas of learning and provide the basis for planning and assessment throughout the EYFS. The seven curriculum areas of learning are made up of three prime areas and four specific areas. Three Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (Making relationships, self-confidence and self-awareness, managing feelings and behaviour),
  • Physical Development (Moving and handling, health and self-care),
  • Communication and Language (Listening and attention, speaking, understanding)

Four Specific Areas:

  • Literacy (Reading, Writing),
  • Mathematics (Numbers, Shape, Space and Measures),
  • Understanding of the World (People and communities, the world, technology)
  • Creative Development (Exploring and using media and materials, being imaginative)

Letter for new parents to F1 - 2021 


EYFS New Starters Presentation 2020 


What to expect when

This is a really excellent document that helps practitioners and parents identify next steps for their children. Click on the picture below to see the full document:


100 things to do before you are 6!

We love these ideas created by Shonette Bason-Wood ( These are really fun, practical ideas and we are certainly committed to achieving as many as we can in school - how many can you do at home? 

Tweet us any pictures of you and your child having a go! @WilberfossPS